Encouraging serious journalism



Angela Lansbury, Chelsea Handler and Diane Warren to be Honored by L.A. Press Club

Three trailblazing women will be honored by the Los Angeles Press Club at the National Arts & Entertainment Journalism Awards Gala on December 4 at the Biltmore Hotel, downtown Los Angeles.

Angela Lansbury will accept the club’s Legend Award, Chelsea Handler will receive the Luminary Award for Career Achievement and Diane Warren will be honored with the Visionary Award for her humanitarian work.

“These honorees are at the top of their respective fields and represent the very best the entertainment industry has to offer,” said Press Club President Robert Kovacik.

The Legend Award honors an individual within the Entertainment Industry for their venerable contributions to the Industry and to Society. ANGELA LANSBURY is an iconic star of movies, stage and TV, spanning over seven decades. For most of the world as Jessica Fletcher of “Murder She Wrote”. Besides being a legend in her own right she has worked with such icons as Elizabeth Taylor, Ingrid Bergman, George Cukor, John Frankenheimer, Frank Sinatra, George Stevens and many more. Link to full bio.

The Luminary Award for Career Achievement was instituted to pay tribute to deserving members of the Entertainment Media. CHELSEA HANDLER is regarded as one of the most successful figures in entertainment today. Her stand-up comedy, best-selling books, and talk shows have attracted millions of fans worldwide. Earlier this year Handler launched an all-new talk show for Netflix, Chelsea, marking the first program of its kind for the global on-demand generation. She tackles today’s tough issues with the same acerbic wit and fearless curiosity we all know and love. Link to full bio.

The Visionary Award was instituted to honor an individual within the Entertainment Industry who uses their high-profile status to make the world a better place and to spread information about issues of freedom and importance. DIANE WARREN is one of the most continuously prolific and successful contemporary songwriters of our time. Her songs have been featured in more than 100 motion pictures, and she has written for iconic artists such as Lady Gaga, Whitney Houston, Beyoncé, Cher, Celine Dion, Jennifer Hudson and Missy Elliott, just to name a few. Warren is a vegetarian, and is a major advocate for animal protection and the elderly. Link to full bio.

The evening will be Emceed by Booze Traveler host Jack Maxwell and Comedian Alonzo Bodden will entertain. Press Club President Robert Kovacik and Vice President Cher Calvin will host the event.

The Los Angeles Press Club has a long and storied history as one of the oldest and most prestigious journalist organizations in the country, serving the Southland since 1913. The NAEJ event is a fundraiser for this 501c3 charitable organization. It is the only Southern California journalism group speaking for all journalists working for daily and weekly newspapers, radio & TV, magazines, documentary films and online.

The club established the NAEJ awards in 2008 to recognize the quality journalism being produced in the fastest growing segment in modern media. It remains the sole award of its kind in the nation.

For more information email LAPC executive director Diana Ljungaeus at Diana@LApressclub.org.

Gala Details

When: December 4, 2016
4:30 p.m. Red Carpet Reception
5 p.m. Cocktails and Silent Auction
6 p.m. Dinner and Awards Program

Where: The Biltmore Bowl,
Millenium Biltmore Hotel
506 S. Grand Avenue,
Los Angeles CA 90071

Click here to see the hotel special holiday deals!

Copyright © 2016 Los Angeles Press Club - All Rights Reserved

"Los Angeles Press Club" is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization. 4773 Hollywood Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90027

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software